Back in the day…

This is the story of how my grandma met my grandpa. I made up some of the details I don’t know, but my grandma has proudly told me this several times when giving me advice.

My grandma was somewhat of a wild girl in high school. She lived in the same small town I grew up in. There wasn’t much to do in this town – and there still isn’t  – so back in the ’30s, before Facebook and video games came out, teenagers would cruise downtown in their automobiles.


One Saturday night, my grandma and her best friend were cruising, and they spotted a group of teenage boys lounging on the grass and drinking soda pop.

“Oh, look,” Grandma’s best friend said, “there’s that cute boy from school.”

Grandma immediately slowed down as they passed. “Which one?” she asked.

“The one without a hat,” her friend said. “I think his name is Teddy. He’s in my algebra class.”

“He sure is cute,” Grandma replied, admiring his dark brown comb-over and  attractive smile.

“He’s shy, though. He wants to be in the military, and he seems wrapped up in that. I don’t think he even notices girls.”

“Well, that should change.” Grandma jerked the wheel to the left and they did a U-turn in the middle of the street. They drove back by the boys, and Grandma honked her car horn. “Hi, Teddy!” she shouted before speeding off.

Her best friend laughed as she looked back. “He’s embarrassed,” she said.

“But he definitely noticed me,” Grandma replied.

For the next several Saturday nights, Grandma and her friend would honk at Teddy every time they drove by. Grandma would alternate between a yell and a wolf whistle along with the honk.

A few weeks later, Teddy approached Grandma at lunchtime at school. “Hi,” he said, his face bright red. “Uh, you’re Nell, right?”

“That’s me,” Grandma replied, fluffing her curly brown hair while her best friend looked on in shock.

“I’m Teddy. I was wondering if I could…uh…well, I was wondering if you’d maybe want to go get a coke sometime this weekend?”

Grandma smiled. “I would love to.”

The rest is history. Three children, seven grandchildren, and over fifty years later, my grandparents are still married.

Candida.Performa (on vacation) - http://www.flickr.com/photos/40006794@N02/

I take after my grandpa more than my grandma and tend to be a somewhat shy person. But as my grandma says when she tells me this story: if you want something, go for it!

About Brittney

I'm a single college girl who wants to explore the concept of love in real life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Back in the day…

  1. Katharine says:

    The idea of this blog is great, a little love story in each or some of the posts. The story of your grandparents is fantastic. The dialogue pulls it along, but I suppose I would still like to hear just a little more description. There’s something charming about that generation and how life use to be, for example the clothing and rickety cars. Maybe bring us back in the same way this memory brings your grandparents back.

  2. Katharine says:

    ALSO please enable it so we can follow your blog. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

