Love is complicated

What’s up with the whole Twilight phenomenon? I honestly don’t get it. I prefer Harry Potter any day.

Aside from my whole opinion about Twilight being very poorly written and overly dramatic, I just don’t get the whole Jacob vs. Edward thing.

They even have t-shirts for this thing. How stupid is that?

I mean, if a girl loves a guy, she should love only him, right?

Wrong.

I got mad this weekend because my friend Marvin posted a picture of me on Facebook with him and our friend Eric and wrote the caption, “Team Marvin or Team Eric?”

Even though he meant it as a joke, it made me angry. First of all, because it associated me with Twilight. Second of all, because I don’t like either of them as more than a friend, and I didn’t want everyone on Facebook to think that was a possibility.

But then I started thinking about it, and I can truly say I like both of them equally as friends. If I could only talk to one of them for the rest of my life, it would be impossible to choose.

So is that how it is with love sometimes? Can someone actually love two people at once, like fictional Bella? I’ve heard my friends say they can’t choose between two guys, and I usually dismissed it as ridiculous, but now I’m thinking their point might actually be valid.

I just think love works a lot like friendship. The couples who seem the happiest to me seem to be friends rather than just lovers. They actually like each other as a person, not just as a lover. So I think I could safely relate how I feel about my friendship with Eric and Marvin to the idea of loving two people.

Maybe, in a weird way, I kind of understand this phenomenon. Since I don’t even have a crush on either of these boys, I obviously don’t fully get the whole loving-two-people thing. But this definitely helps me understand a little bit more how complicated love can actually be, even if it seems ridiculous to people on the outside.

(I have three best friends who are girls, but I do actually like one of them better than the other two, so I guess that’s why I haven’t made that connection until just now.)

Sadly, this has not helped me understand Twilight at all. I still think Bella, Edward, and Jacob are ridiculous…but that’s another story.

About Brittney

I'm a single college girl who wants to explore the concept of love in real life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

