A real man

This semi-relates to my last post, because I’ve been thinking about calling first/manning up/being a lady lately.

Can you tell a cute guy recently asked for my number but hasn’t called me yet? I’m trying not to obsess…really. But it’s hard.

So anyway, once again, I don’t like to call or text guys first. I will when I know a guy pretty well, but I want the man to be the leader in a relationship right at the beginning stages. Sometimes that seems like too much to ask, because men these days don’t seem to want to lead. I figure when the right man comes along, he will man up and lead. It’s just hard to wait sometimes.

That’s why I put that video of Pride and Prejudice up. First of all, it’s one of my top 5 favorite movies of all time, which is saying something, since my minor is Film and Video Studies and I’ve seen a lot of movies in my day.

But I like this movie and this book because Mr. Darcy is a real man. What he does in this scene is the kind of thing that most girls really want in a man. He’s brave enough to ask Elizabeth to marry him even when she hasn’t really given him any hints that she likes him, yet he’s nice enough to take it well when she refuses and to not give up on marrying her, yet not in a stalker way. He just waits patiently until she falls in love with him at the end.

I would love for someone to treat me like that. I’m pretty shy, and I have my whole phone game going on, so I want someone to take the initiative and be like Mr. Darcy. Is that too much to ask?

Of course, if the guy looked as good as Mr. Darcy in a suit, that wouldn’t hurt, either.

About Brittney

I'm a single college girl who wants to explore the concept of love in real life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

