Love as Entertainment

I’ve been on this subject for a while, since I wrote an opinion piece on this for one of my classes this week. But I’m going to say a little more about it now from a more personal standpoint.

I wish love was like it is in the movies. For a long time, I thought it really was. I mean, who doesn’t want a sparkling vampire to sweep her off her feet?

Sadly, there are no such thing as vampires, or Mr. Darcy, or Rick Blaine And women aren’t always as pretty as Marilyn Monroe or as charming as Katie Holmes.

Books are even worse. They engage your mind and emotions in a much more intense way than movies do. I think too many romance novels can also cause emotional damage and unfulfilled expectations.

I really like all these books and movies, though. In fact, I hope to write some novels that deal with romance someday. I’m just saying that I’m afraid these things create unrealistic expectations for people.

I won’t go into the cliche rant about our world becoming too inundated with technology, but it’s true. We’re missing a lot of personal interaction in our day-to-day lives. Also, divorce rates are higher than ever lately. People often miss out on real-life examples for how real love should look, so they turn to movies and books to explain this to them. Maybe this isn’t a conscious thing, but I think it happens.

I don’t really have a solution to this. It’s just something that’s been on my mind. I love watching chick flicks – I watched Sweet Home Alabama last night – but I’m just afraid that it can become a substitute for real life for some people. I’m thinking of some of my friends in particular.

I guess I should just monitor my media intake and make sure I’m not getting answers from that.

About Brittney

I'm a single college girl who wants to explore the concept of love in real life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

