Wedding dresses

Check out this awesome picture I found:

This dress is so fun! It’s any girl’s dream. Big, poofy, princess-like.

And nowadays, we have…

It’s not as big or spectacular, but I personally like it better. The other one would be too cumbersome for me to wear.

I used to think wedding dresses were white to represent the purity of the bride, which I guess is true in today’s context. That wasn’t the original reason wedding dresses in the West are white, though. Blue was actually considered to be the color for purity originally.

Princess Bridal Gowns

That’s pretty, but it reminds me too much of a prom dress.

Before Victorian times, brides got married in whatever color they wanted. Black was especially popular in Scandinavia.

Again, this is a gorgeous dress, but I would never get married in it. Black is just too depressing and emo.

White became popular because of the dress Queen Victoria wore when she married Albert of Saxe-Coburg in the 1800s. She chose white because she wanted to use some lace she had, and of course, everyone copied her because she was the queen.

White gowns also have some meaning connected to christening gowns in the Catholic church. Marriage and Christening are two very important sacraments a dedicated follower must adhere to.

On the other hand, other cultures have different ways of doing things. Lots of Eastern brides wear red.

This is absolutely gorgeous, and much more striking than a white dress. Red is the color of good luck, so that’s why many Indian brides wear it.

Chinese women often wear red, too.

This is so stunning. I love how unique it is. Too bad I would be the talk of the town – and not in a good way – if I got married in an Eastern red dress in my small Oklahoma hometown.

So what does my mini-history, mini-fashion-critique, and mini-cultural-enlightenment of the wedding dress have to do with love? Not much. But it’s related to weddings, which is part of love, right?

Oh well. I must indulge myself sometimes.

About Brittney

I'm a single college girl who wants to explore the concept of love in real life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

